Tim Tebow to become latest Florida Gators legend enshrined in College Football Hall of Fame

By OnlyGators.com Staff
January 9, 2023
Tim Tebow to become latest Florida Gators legend enshrined in College Football Hall of Fame

Two-time national champion and 2007 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Tim Tebow has been elected as the newest member of the College Football Hall of Fame. Tebow, a member of the Class of 2023, will be the 13th member of the Gators and 10th player to be inducted into the esteemed club.

One of the most decorated college football players in history, Tebow joins Dale Van Sickel, Jack Youngblood, Emmitt Smith, Wilber Marshall, Carlos Alvarez, Danny Wuerffel, Wes Chandler and Lomas Brown in the hall of fame. Former Gators coaches Charles Bachman, Ray Graves and Doug Dickey have also been inducted with Steve Spurrier receiving dual nods for his role as a player and coach.

Tebow won national championships with the Florida in 2006 and 2008 — the latter as the starting quarterback — and became the first sophomore ever to win the Heisman when he captured the award in 2007, the same season he was a consensus All-America selection. The three-time SEC Player of the Year was a Heisman finalist twice more, and he racked up a litany of other awards, honors and statistical records over the course of his four-year career, including becoming the first player in NCAA history to rush and pass for at least 20 touchdowns in a single season.

The latest member of the Gators’ exclusive Ring of Honor, to which he was added in 2018, Tebow was selected in the first round of the 2010 NFL Draft by the Denver Broncos. Since graduating from Florida, he has also played minor league baseball with the New York Mets organization and served as a college football analyst for ESPN while maintaining his extensive charitable efforts.

Join The

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux